THE POWER OF PRAYER

“I Consider Myself A Hindu,  Christian,  Moslem,  Jew,  Buddhist, And Confucian.” ~ Mahatma Gandhi….

There are many that think this is a pretty wild statement. Gandhi was Assassinated for this Belief in 1948 by a Religious Fanatic who could not forgive him  for maintaining that we are all the same under GOD.

Whether you Agree or Disagree, whether you understand or you do not, is not my point.  Religion is a Very Tough Subject, but my Belief in GOD is quite Simple.    I believe in GOD,  a Higher Power of my Understanding, and I talk to him All Day!!!

No matter what has happened in my life, the Highs and the Lows, the Good and the Bad,  I know that I’ve never been Alone. There are many times I have been Gripped in Terror,  Paralyzed by Fear,  so Afraid that I believed I could not go on another day.  That’s when I started Praying…

I remember Praying as a little boy.  I would pray for Things mostly, either things I wanted or hoped for.  When I was sick and felt awful I would beg GOD for his help, to feel better.

As I look back on my life,  I can honestly say,  that I turned to GOD mostly when I had no where else to go. From time to time  I would say;  “Thank You GOD!”  when something went my way or I achieved something that I had hoped for. But, truth be told, going to GOD was never a first option. It was a fall back strategy. When all else had failed, and the shit hit the proverbial fan,  I would seek out my unseen GOD and beg for help.

You see, I was taught Self-Reliance. I grew up believing that to accomplish something you had to make it happen.  Disclipine,  Self Sacrifice, & Willpower were my Religious Practices. My fate was in My hands. I was the “Be All”  and the “End All”….

“Man Makes Plans And GOD Laughs.”  My favorite expression from the Talmud, a Book of Jewish wisdom.  You see,  if it’s One thing I’ve learned, One thing I can Share with others;  I am in the Effort Business, not the Results Business…Try as I might, the only thing in this World in my Power is my Effort. The Outcomes in our Life are determined by Powers much Greater than Ourselves.

Prayer is “Talking to GOD” ….Meditation is  “Listening for his Answers.”  I can tell you that Prayer works. It’s an interesting fact….There are so many different religions observed in this world. Many more than Gandhi mentions in my opening quote. There is One Common Thread that runs through All Religions….PRAYER!!!  Praising, Talking to, and Asking a  “GOD of Our Understanding” on a Regular Basis.  Either in Worship or from Pain, whether from Gratitude, or from Need:  Prayer is the Centerpiece of All Religion….

As I am living through the most Difficult and Painful Experience in the History of my Life, I am Immersed in Prayer Constantly.  It Works!!!  The Benefits are Real and Tangible.

People from all  “Walks of Life”  have been reaching out to me as they see my Painful Journey.  They seem to feel Comfortable Sharing their Pain and Tragic Circumstances with me,  perhaps because I have so Publicly shared my own.

“What can I do?” they ask….”How can this happen to me?” …. “I can’t take the pain anymore.” …. “How can you handle all this?”  ….

I Pray….I Pray Alot!!!  If you have tried praying and it doesn’t seem to work for you, then Pray Harder!!!….Anyone that thinks that Prayer doesn’t work just Never Prayed Hard Enough!!!

“Though I Walk Through The Valley Of The Shadow Of Death,  I Will Fear No Evil: For Thou Art With Me.” – Psalm 23

5 Responses to “THE POWER OF PRAYER”

  1. Larry Seppanen Says:

    Excellent Ross.

  2. rosshmandell Says:

    Thanks Larry!!!

  3. Susan Says:

    Nicely said. It’s quite tragic that it takes terrible pain to figure out that the power of prayer….works. Believe it and you will see it….I’m glad you found your way.

  4. Fawn Says:

    Love it, thank you for your infinite wisdom~
    Psalm 23 is my favorite..born in the 23rd too
    Keep Rockin’ Ross! xoxo

  5. Theresa Bourg Pierce.. (AKA. Inspiring Angel) Says:

    Beautiful Ross. God has blessed you with the gift of words. Your postings have touched the hearts of many. God Bless you and all you do in The Name Of Jesus. Amen!

Leave a comment